simple delicacies i love

Hey guys so today I’m going to introduce you to a few of my favorable snacks to eat and munch from time to time. well I personally think we love eating a bit too much , always stuffing ourselves but after a while your hungry again…  lol silly right!?… but we have to embrace what we have to the fullest and enjoy the lovely tastes over and over again.

I will start with my all time favorable fruit the mango, we call it “embe” and we like it a bit unripe so it tastes a little bit sour and we eat it with lots of red chili pepper like this.It tastes amazing…

  10671429_1028216587192759_3227531101946743164_n     images (1)

Then we have the cassava fruit, its a morning snack mostly for me and I like it fried.I love me my fried foods. You can get these “Mihogo” from women venders on the street ways with their salads & also at a famous local beach area called “coco” they have lots and in the weekends its a full house there jam packed with cars,people and motorcycles and the mihogo tastes heavenly.

mihogo ya kukaangwa     download (3)

The rice cakes are very common also ,They are known as the ” kitumbua”.They are breakfast delicacies and served hot with tea. The taste is sweet because they put sugar also , I love em grew up eating them…

images (3)

The maize cob, grilled we call it “mahindi ya kuchoma”.Venders on the street ways just place their carts near bus stations
mostly and sell. we eats it with lemons and chili peppers on it while nice and warm.

images (2)images (5)

images  in English it is known as the Saba comorensis, the bungo fruit (pl. mabungo), mbungo, or rubber vine plant, my mouth just waters when I think of this fruit, I remember the times when I was in high school a day wouldn’t be complete without one of these, full of pepper yes I think the Indian pepper spiced culture rubbed on me a bit back then. hehe

download (1) downloaddownload (2)

We created a snack out of Seeds of the baobab fruit we call it “ubuyu”. Color and sugar is then added in the mixture. This is how it looks packed. its nice to keep your mouth busy, i call it natural candy

images                  images (1)

Nuts as snacks is normal in many places I presume. we call them “karanga”. These are cashew nuts, weirdly made but takes great. Its a long process to create the salty ,crunchy and tasty end product.

images (2)           images (3)

these are the normal ground nuts either boiled or raw venders sell them alot on streets,images (4)                  images (5)

The meat intake in our country is massive lol just kidding ,I don’t know those statistics I Love meal so any meat I eat except the weird ones of course, so in my country we sell grilled meat that I go nuts for,its sold by venders as well and we call them “mishkaki”.

download (4)

Published by Kwinoja

I'm a simple girl who has love for Art, Peace & Nature. I am also a very curious lady sometimes... I adore the beach, fashion and everything colorful. Proudly Tanzanian Proudly African.

Leave a hey thank you for visiting, please let me know how you felt ... welcome again & subscribe for more

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.