Tokomeza Fistula

So when I was in miss excellence beauty camp, we discussed about the many issues that affect our society, one of the many topics was women maternal health in the country.The miss excellence university beauty pageant had the motto “beauty with brains.”

All in all on the day of the event, I got to the question answer rounds and I was the lucky one to get a question on Fistula.

I then paused and waited for the host to repeat the question while I recalled all my memory on the topic, my heart raced as  I thought about everyone staring and listening to me on stage, I then took a deep breath and answered calmly, as I thought of the pain and suffering the patients have when I read about this sad disease , I clearly remembered imaging it happening to me.

CCBRT_Benjamin Eagle 3
A doctor talks to patients in Comprehensive Community-Based Rehabilitation in Tanzania (CCBRT) in Dar es Salaam. Photograph by Benjamin Eagle.

Surprisingly, I found out it was nothing but a simple painful embarassing tear. Each year between 50 000 to 100 000 women worldwide are affected by obstetric fistula.

It is a hole in the birth canal.  The development of obstetric fistula is directly linked to one of the major causes of maternal mortality: obstructed labour.

Women who experience obstetric fistula suffer constant incontinence, shame, social segregation and health problems.

Obstetric fistula is preventable, it can largely be avoided by: delaying the age of first pregnancy ( the older you are the better chances of not getting ); the cessation of harmful traditional practices( child delivering at home is harmful); and timely access to obstetric care ( stay close to hospital when pregnant).

One of the largest hurdles to providing fistula care is simply that women don’t know it’s available. WE NEED THEM TO KNOW IT IS CURABLE!!

Another is that Tanzania is a vast country, and getting to Dar es Salaam is inordinately expensive for many. In fact, just a few years ago, the hospitals’ surgeons stood ready but its beds were empty. MAKE THE SURGERY EVERYWHERE NOT ONLY IN TOWNS!!

fistula_tanzania_

There are many NGO and Government organizations trying to help solve this problem so as to cure everyone…… I give thanks to you vodacom and CCBRT hospital , I am inspired.

Over 500 CCBRT ambassadors are now using Vodafone M-Pesa money transfer to enable women to receive corrective surgery for obstetric fistula. CCBRT has experienced a 324% increase in the number of women treated at the hospital between 2011 to 2013. Since Vodacom started supporting the program, over 2000 women have been treated.

Here is a link to an amazing story HERE http://thinkafricapress.com/tanzania/treating-physical-and-emotional-wounds-obstetric-fistula

If you are in DAR es salaam in September please come and pitch your ideas at this event 111https://www.facebook.com/events/1526177674284990/

so here is me campaigning for more people to pitch in and help the many suffering women with this disease, together with my prayers…. HUSH TAG TOKOMEZA FISTULA ,what are you going to do??

stay blessed

 

Published by Kwinoja

I'm a simple girl who has love for Art, Peace & Nature. I am also a very curious lady sometimes... I adore the beach, fashion and everything colorful. Proudly Tanzanian Proudly African.

Leave a hey thank you for visiting, please let me know how you felt ... welcome again & subscribe for more

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.